October 11, 2005

I went for the ride today at about 8AM, because rain was due in the area about an hour after 7:30AM. Morning rides are never a whole lot of fun and this was no different. The traffic is maniacal. I think if a driver could get away with it, they would just say screw it and run cyclists over. It’s such a shame.

It started raining near the end of the ride so I took time going around corners and not taking risks. But I wanted to get back sooner, so I rode the ride straight home today (the old ride—straight down York Road from Bellona to 33rd). Since the traffic was so tight I stayed in the curb lane which is chock full of craters and potholes, so it was impossible to really get any speed going. I’d say I rode most of that section at about 40kph, but I felt more buried underneath.

Also, I took my time up th hills and really just tried to keep my pace even.

Leave a Reply

