November 17, 2004

November 17, 2004

I did the hill ride today. I came upon a guy wearing the USPS team colors. I passed him and sort of congratulated myself. He later passed me back going 15 mph up the hill at Falls…. I caught him later on the straight up to Ruxton where he turned left heading west. He tried to prove a point to me I’m sure, but truth is I had to slow coming down the Lake Avenue hill because I was right on a truck’s tail.

…Good ride. I had been slouching lately doing 52’00 minutes, but today I did a 50’30 minutes ride. Importantly, I put more air in my tires at the gas station pump because I’ve been working myself into a frenzy pumping up the tire using my pump. I think this decreased my rolling resistance. Still, this was off my best of 49’21 minutes— at time only done when you catch most of the lights… Today there was construction, ill-timed lights. Incidentally, the roads suck. The craters on York Road are so bad I have to ride in the leftmost lane to avoid walking my bike home.

…Got back in time to see a Premiership match between Arsenal and Tottenham. probably one of the best soccer matches I’ve ever witnessed. The final score was 5-4 Arsenal. But it was so close with most of those goals being scored throughout the second half.

…(Hill Ride Course: 14.78 mile ride: west on Argonne; over to University up Roland to Lake Avenue. West on Lake Avenue to Falls Road; North on Falls to Ruxton. East on Ruxton to Bellona. Bellona South to York road passing intersections like Charles Street and Northern Parkway. Really big hills on Bellona Avenue, Falls Road and Roland Avenue.)

I did the hill ride today. I came upon a guy wearing the USPS team colors. I passed him and sort of congratulated myself. He later passed me back going 15 mph up the hill at Falls. That had to hurt. I caught him later on the straight up to Ruxton where he turned left heading west. He tried to prove a point to me I’m sure, but truth is I had to slow coming down the Lake Avenue hill because I was right on a truck’s tail. So, I considered it a draw. Good workout.

Good ride. I had been slouching lately doing 52’00 minutes for the past few days, but today I did a 50’30 minutes ride. Importantly, I put more air in my tires at the gas station pump because I’ve been working myself into a frenzy pumping up the tire using my pump. I think this decreased my rolling resistance. Still, this was off my best of 49’21 minutes— at time only done when you catch most of the lights… Today there was construction, ill-timed lights. Incidentally, the roads suck. The craters on York Road are so bad I have to ride in the leftmost lane to avoid walking my bike home. Crazy.

Got back in time to see a Premiership match between Arsenal and Tottenham. probably one of the best soccer matches I’ve ever witnessed. The final score was 5-4 Arsenal. But it was so close with most of those goals being scored throughout the second half. Good stuff.

(Hill Ride Course: 14.78 mile ride: west on Argonne; over to University up Roland to Lake Avenue. West on Lake Avenue to Falls Road; North on Falls to Ruxton. East on Ruxton to Bellona. Bellona South to York road passing intersections like Charles Street and Northern Parkway. Really big hills on Bellona Avenue, Falls Road and Roland Avenue.)

Leave a Reply

